Club History

  • The ‘Sorrento/Whitford Junior Football Club’ started in 1971 with 7 teams – 2 x under 10, under 11, 12,
    13, 15 & 17.
  • The club was renamed to ‘Sorrento Junior Football Club’ in 1976 with 12 teams and then again to
    ‘Sorrento Duncraig Junior Football Club’ in 1978 as it is today.  Mal Lothian was the first President of
  • The Percy Doyle clubrooms were opened on 2/09/1989 at a cost of $180,000. The pergola area was
    added in 1993. Both SDJFC and the Wanneroo T-Ball club contributed $25,000 with the remainder of
    funds coming from the City of Wanneroo and Dept. of Sport and Recreation.  The new Sorrento
    Clubrooms at Seacrest Park were opened on 15th May 2011.
  • The club has had over 30 state representatives.
  • It has been award Champion Club (of the District) in 1993, 1998, 2004, 2005 and 2009.
  • It has achieved over 30 open grade premierships. (+3 for 2011).
  • The following junior members went on to play AFL – Ian Perrier (Adelaide), Todd Ridley (Essendon),
    Matt Priddis (WCE), Daniel Rich (Lions), Adam Cockie (WCE) and Jack Darling (WCE).
  • Auskick started 1987 with 42 boys and girls, it was 527 in 2016